Assistant Principal Reelected to Board; Retired Financial Officer Elected as Lay Trustee

Alison Wright

Paul Bruce Jr.

Current teacher trustee Alison Wright won a third term on the TRS Board of Trustees as a result of this year’s members’ elections, which also saw retired financial officer Paul Bruce Jr. elected as a lay trustee.

The four-year terms began July 1.

Ms. Wright, of Georgetown, is entering her third term as an active teacher trustee and is a past board chair and vice chair. She is an assistant principal at Leestown Middle School in Lexington. Ms. Wright is a National Board Certified math teacher and also served as the Professional Growth and Effectiveness System (PGES) coach at Leestown. Previously, she taught at E.J. Hayes Middle and Lafayette High. From 2015 to 2018, Ms. Wright was a Kentucky Department of Education effectiveness coach. With 21 years as an educator, Ms. Wright has testified in Frankfort with the Kentucky Education Action Team and been published, including in Education Week. Ms. Wright earned her master’s degree from Eastern Kentucky University with an emphasis in teaching mathematics.

Mr. Bruce, of Louisville, is a lay trustee. He has more than 30 years of experience in the financial sector, including 14 as chief financial officer at Farm Credit Mid-America, a $20 billion lending cooperative and the nation’s second largest. In this role, Mr. Bruce served as both a trustee and a benefit plan sponsor for employee retirement and medical benefits governing $2 billion in trusts for more than 8,000 employees nationally. Mr. Bruce is a former elder, treasurer, Bible study leader and worship band pianist. He is a member of West Broadway Baptist Church.

Both Ms. Wright and Mr. Bruce were elected in this year’s member voting, which was conducted in April and May.

The board consists of 11 members: seven people elected by the membership (four active teachers, one retiree and two lay trustees); two appointed by the governor with investment experience; the state treasurer; and the state education commissioner.

(Posted July 2023)