TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE STATE OF KENTUCKY SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE DECEMBER 19, 2022

Minutes of Meeting:

After giving proper notice of a special meeting and a quorum being present, Chair Josh Underwood called the TRS Scholarship Committee to order at 9:30 a.m. ET on Monday, December 19, 2022. The meeting was conducted in the TRS boardroom at 479 Versailles Road, Frankfort, Kentucky.

Members present:

Josh Underwood, Chair Alison Wright, Vice Chair William Alverson Laura Schneider Brenda McGown

Others present:

Hollis Gritton, Trustee
Dr. Ben Littlepage, Trustee
Matt Ross, Trustee
Eric Wampler, Teachers' Retirement System
Tom Siderewicz, Teachers' Retirement System
Becky Niece, Teachers' Retirement System
J.P. Cordray, Teachers' Retirement System
Nate Van Sickel, Teachers' Retirement System
Greg Hall, Teachers' Retirement System
Jane Gilbert, Teachers' Retirement System
Brad Cook, Teachers' Retirement System
Margaret Hockensmith, Teachers' Retirement System

Reports of the Executive Secretary and Chief Investment Officer: Mr. Wampler provided a report on the background of the Junita Losey Scholarship, and Mr. Siderewicz reported on the scholarship fund's investment strategy and cash flow.

Chair Underwood asked the committee to consider scholarship awards for 2023-2024.

<u>Committee Action</u>: Upon motion duly made by Mr. Alverson and seconded by Ms. Wright, the committee unanimously voted to recommend to the board that \$2,000 be granted to each of the eight public universities in Kentucky for one-year scholarships and a \$2,000 one-year scholarship to a Campbell County High School senior who intends to major in education at a Kentucky public university.

<u>Adjournment</u>: There being no further business to come before the committee, and, by unanimous consent of the committee, Chair Underwood declared the meeting adjourned at 9:40 p.m.

CERTIFICATIONS

| We, the chair of the Scholarship Committee and the executive secretary of the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Kentucky, do certify that the minutes of meeting were approved by the Board of Trustees on March 20, 2023. | |
|---|----------------------------------|
| Josh Underwood, Chair | Gary Harbin, Executive Secretary |
| I, Robert B. Barnes, do certify adherence to the Kentucky Open Meetings Act, KRS 61.800 et seq., in the conduct of this meeting. I have reviewed the minutes for form, content and legality. | |
| Robert B. Barnes, Deputy Executive Secretary and General Counsel | |
| I, Margaret Hockensmith, do certify that I was present at the meeting and duly recorded the actions of the Scholarship Committee of the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Kentucky at its meeting on December 19, 2022. | |
| Margaret Hockensmith Recording Secretary | |