TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE STATE OF KENTUCKY SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE DECEMBER 16, 2019

Minutes of Meeting:

After giving proper notice of a special meeting and a quorum being present, Chair Josh Underwood called the TRS Scholarship Committee to order at 9 a.m. on Monday, December 16, 2019, in the boardroom of the Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Kentucky, 479 Versailles Road, Frankfort, Kentucky.

Members present:

Josh Underwood, Chair Alison Wright, Vice Chair Laura Schneider

Others present:

Hollis Gritton, Trustee
Lynn Patterson, Trustee
Gary L. Harbin, Teachers' Retirement System
Robert Barnes, Teachers' Retirement System
Eric Wampler, Teachers' Retirement System
Tom Siderewicz, Teachers' Retirement System
Mark Whelan, Teachers' Retirement System
Greg Hall, Teachers' Retirement System
Felicia Penn, Teachers' Retirement System

Reports of the Executive Secretary and Chief Investment Officer: Mr. Harbin provided a report on the background of the Junita Losey Scholarship Program, and Mr. Siderewicz reported on the investment strategy and cash flow of the scholarship fund.

Chair Underwood asked the committee to consider scholarship awards for 2020-2021.

<u>Committee Action</u>: Upon motion duly made by Ms. Schneider and seconded by Ms. Wright, the committee unanimously voted to recommend to the full board that a \$2,000 yearly scholarship be granted to each of the eight public universities in Kentucky and a \$2,000 yearly scholarship to a Campbell County High School senior who intends to major in education at a Kentucky public university.

<u>Adjournment</u>: There being no further business to come before the committee and by unanimous consent of the committee, Chair Underwood declared the meeting adjourned at 9:37 a.m.

CERTIFICATIONS

We, the chair of the Scholarship Committee and the executive secretary of the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Kentucky, do certify that the minutes of meeting were approved by the Scholarship Committee on June 15, 2020.	
Josh Underwood, Chair	Gary Harbin, Executive Secretary
	the Kentucky Open Meetings Act, KRS 61.800 et eviewed the minutes for form, content and legality.
Robert B. Barnes, Deputy Executive Secreta and General Counsel	nry
•	at the meeting and duly recorded the actions of the stees of the Teachers' Retirement System of the State, 2019.
Felicia Penn Recording Secretary	